Check out the Chrevolet /Hockey Canada resource

Posted: September 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

All players born in 2008 who are registered in the NMHA qualify for a free helmet. The link is on the NMHA website. I was going over the program and noticed a free parent guide that can be downloaded. It is a great read for not only “rookie” hockey parents but ALL HOCKEY PARENTS AND FANS.  I borrowed this from the download:

FAIR PLAY CODES
PLAYERS
 I will play hockey because I want to, not just because others or coaches want me to.
 I will play by the rules of hockey, and in the spirit of the game.
 I will control my temper – fighting and “mouthing off” can spoil the activity for everybody.
 I will respect my opponents.
 I will do my best to be a true team player.
 I will remember that winning isn’t everything – that having fun, improving skills, making friends and
doing my best is also important.
 I will acknowledge all good plays/performances – those of my team and of my opponents.
 I will remember that coaches and officials are there to help me. I will accept their decisions and show
them respect.
PARENTS
 I will not force my child to participate in hockey.
 I will remember that my child plays hockey for his or her own enjoyment, not for mine.
 I will encourage my child to play by the rules and to resolve conflicts without resorting to hostility or
violence.
 I will teach my child that doing one’s best is as important as winning, so that my child will never feel
defeated by the outcome of a game.
 I will make my child feel like a winner every time by offering praise for competing fairly and trying hard.
 I will never ridicule or yell at my child for making a mistake or losing a game.
 I will remember that children learn best by example. I will applaud good plays/performances by both my
child’s team and their opponents.
 I will never question the officials’ judgment or honesty in public.
 I will support all efforts to remove verbal and physical abuse from children’s hockey games.
 I will respect and show appreciation for the volunteer coaches who give their time to coach hockey for
my child.
SPECTATORS
 I will remember that participants play hockey for their enjoyment. They are not playing to entertain me.
 I will not have unrealistic expectations. I will remember that the players are not professionals and
cannot be judged by professional standards.
 I will respect the officials’ decisions and I will encourage participants to do the same.
 I will never ridicule a player for making a mistake during a game. I will give positive comments that
motivate and encourage continued effort.
 I will condemn the use of violence in any form and will express my disapproval in an appropriate manner
to coaches and league officials.
 I will show respect for my team’s opponents, because without them there would be no game
 I will not use bad language, nor will I harass players, coaches, officials or other spectators.

 

I KNOW THAT PROBLEMS WITH ATTITUDE IS EXTREMELY RARE IN TIMBITS HOCKEY BUT IT NEVER HURTS TO TAKE A MOMENT AND REFLECT ON WHY WE ARE ALL HERE! 

FOR NEW TIMBITS THE SORTS WILL BE EITHER SATURDAY SEPT 7 or SUNDAY SEPT 8.  DETAILS ARE ON THE NMHA WEBSITE

DON’T FORGET TO SHARPEN THOSE SKATES AND GET A MOUTH GUARD – See you at SPLEX 2 

Leave a Reply

